Tired Thursday

Completely forgot about Wordless Wednesday yesterday – oh well, maybe next week!

I really need to start going to bed earlier.  I am a night owl by nature, so even though I make sure the kids are in bed by 8:30pm, I have a tendency to stay up til 11pm or later watching tv, reading, or wasting time on the internet.  Last night it was 1am before I got to bed – not a good plan when Mr. S never sleeps past 7am!  I’m trying to set a good example for my kids in so many ways, from watching what I eat and getting a reasonable amount of exercise to reading a wide variety of books and remembering to say our prayers in the morning, before meals, and at bedtime; obviously I need to work on having the self-discipline to go to bed at 10pm and set my alarm to get up at 6:30am so I could have half an hour to myself before they wake up.  I’m not a morning person at all, so being able to have a cup of coffee in silence before our day begins would be wonderful – if I could just manage to set the alarm…

Today was another great day of homeschooling.  We didn’t have a theme this week, but each day I read him a book from the Before Five in a Row selections, and those are all such good stories.  This week for arts & crafts we focused on his cutting skills – I noticed last week when we did the creation mobile that he didn’t even know how to hold a pair of scissors, so I printed out some worksheets that let him color objects and then cut in straight or jagged lines.  Today we wrapped that up with a collage activity that had him cut some simple shapes and then paste them onto a sheet of construction paper.  It’s great to see so much improvement after just three days of practice!  We’ll follow up in the coming weeks with some Kumon workbooks that have a host of cutting activities.  (Amazon.com had these on sale a week or so ago – buy three get one free – so I bought several different ones to supplement our arts & crafts times!)

Speaking of printable worksheets, this website is a great resource for prehandwriting skills worksheets.  I initially tried to teach Mr. S to trace his name, but then I realized that he lacked some of the fundamentals that would let him do this successfully – i.e., he had no idea how to properly hold a pencil or how he should be making the lines and curves.   I got him some pencil grippers so he could more easily hold a pencil correctly, and we’ve been working on these worksheets for two weeks now – and he’s making some progress.  So far we’ve just done straight lines, next week we’ll move to curves and after that I’ll see if he’s ready to move on to some basic letters.

Next week we’ll only have three school days, thanks to the long weekend, and I’m working on a Noah’s Ark theme for story time and arts & crafts.  Actually we’ll only have three school days for many subsequent weeks, because the week after next our co-op starts – I’m really excited for him to have this opportunity to do art, music and drama with a group of homeschooled kids his age on Tuesdays!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. hunduddle hussy
    Sep 03, 2010 @ 21:47:23

    just came by to say…
    thanks for stopping by on my sits day, a day that i needed just a WEEEE bit of extra love :) ur awesome!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

