Week One

I’m exhausted.  Who knew that homeschooling one four-year-old could be this exhausting?  (I’m sure the answer is, every other parent who’s homeschooled a child, but humor me here.)  The exhaustion isn’t just about homeschooling, though – I’m still recovering from the festivities surrounding The Terminator’s birthday last week, as well as getting her started in her new preschool class this week.  It almost feels like cheating to take one child to preschool and keep the other one at home, but Mr. Sensitive attended this preschool last year too and he came away with some great friends and a solid academic base for me to build on – so I don’t feel too bad.  Besides, if homeschooling one child takes this much energy, I can only imagine how exhausted I’d be if I was trying to teach them both this year!  Next year will be a whole new level of adventure…

So far, I have learned that the “schedule” I imagined we’d stick to is more of a suggestion; that Mr. Sensitive likes it when I read to him, but he isn’t going to sit still for long (I knew this, but somehow figured The Beginning of Formal Homeschooling would instill in him a desire to sit still and gaze at me lovingly while I poured knowledge into him); that he thinks Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons is boring, but he’ll focus on it for five minutes at a time if I am firm; that he is more ready to read than he is to write; and that he likes Math U See, mostly because it lets him play with tiny square blocks.  Also, several of the books I’d hoped to use with him (mostly art and music related) are a bit over his head, but he’s just as happy using watercolors and singing nursery rhymes, and that’s really all I need to worry about at his age anyway.

I had anticipated that school would take three hours a day, but it’s more like two hours – and that includes free play (with Legos, blocks, or Magneatos) for 15 minutes after the dreaded reading lesson, PE (going outside to ride his bike or scooter for 15 minutes after we finish math), and watching the Muzzy DVD for 10-15 minutes.  I realize that if he was in preschool this year, the day would be longer – but a lot of that time would probably consist of the teachers trying to get the kids to focus on the task at hand, plus things like snack time and trips to the restroom.  It just doesn’t take as much time to present the material to one child as it would to a classroom full of children.

I’ve signed him up for a co-op of homeschooling families that will meet one day a week for art, music, and drama, but that doesn’t start until the middle of September.  The co-op did host a social for moms this past weekend, so I got to meet a few of the families we’ll be spending time with as the year goes on.  I’m looking forward to that starting up – I hope it will be a way for both of us to make friends in the local homeschooling community!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dawn
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 21:24:49

    Wow you’re just starting out! (Looks like you just started your blog too!?) I remember those days. 🙂 Mine went to preschool then homeschooled for K-8th. I got the chance to start all over again with my 2 younger sons and this year I am teaching 5th & 3rd grades.
    Be careful that you don’t stress academics SO MUCH that your four year old begins to hate learning. He’s only four. Play should still make up the majority of his day. Relax! You’ve got 13 more years to get all that learning into him. 🙂

    Thanks for dropping by and commenting on my blog!

    Reply

  2. straderspiel
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 22:14:26

    Welcome to the blogosphere and thanks for the comment! That’s great you were able to find a co-op to join forces with. Having support for this endeavor is priceless. I look forward to reading about your journey!

    Reply

  3. Ashley
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 03:39:56

    Try to make a game out of the various learning objectives you want to accomplish. I’ve found that Jenny is much more receptive to playing a game than she is at sitting down and “learning”. They are sponges at this age, so find “creative” ways to help them soak it all up! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

