Planning and Daily Schedule

I suppose at some point I might start planning more than a week at a time, but right now I’m still figuring out what works for us.  Today I sat down and planned our school activities for this week – we’ll be doing four days of school this week, since we don’t have anything else on the calendar (and Mr. S was so eager last week that he was upset we only did three days of school).  I’ve read so many books on homeschooling at this point that I can’t keep them all straight, but the schedule I’m using is modified from one I found in a book – it’s intended to divide the school day into 15-minute segments, but I’ve found that some segments (such as math & reading) don’t really take up the entire 15 minutes, so we just go with the flow.

Here’s how I have our day organized:

  • Pledge of Allegiance & Prayer
  • Story Time – I had planned on using Before Five in a Row for this, but this week I had inspiration so I’ll be using some books from the library instead
  • Arts & Crafts – I’m trying to use crafts that tie into the story we read, but if I can’t manage it he loves to paint or play with markers
  • Reading – one lesson a day from Teach Your Child to Read in 100 Easy Lessons
  • Pre-writing – I found a website called KidZone that has free printable worksheets for pre-handwriting skills, so I’m going to start using that this week; last week, I tried letting him trace his name using a dry-erase marker and a piece of paper covered in a sheet protector, but observing him I noticed he needs to develop some understanding of basic skills like drawing straight lines & curves before he’ll really be ready to learn to write
  • Free Play – I have some toys that I only let him use during school hours, such as legos, magneatos, and a set of wooden blocks
  • Religion – I read him a story from the Loyola Kids Book of Saints – it’s a little above his head, and he’s usually running around or climbing on me while I read it, but I think it’s good exposure for both of us
  • Math – three pages from the Math U See primer curriculum
  • PE – I just want him to be active, so we use this time to go outside and ride his bike or scooter, or kick a soccer ball around in the yard
  • Free Play – we have a lot of puzzles, and also some easy board games that I can play with him, so that’s what this segment is for
  • Science – I’m using a book called Science Play for ideas, but mostly we just walk around outside and look at bugs or flowers or trees and talk about what we see
  • Music – I got a Mother Goose Songbook from the library and am using that right now, but I’m not really sure what direction I’ll go with this in the long run
  • Muzzy – we watch this for about 15 minutes at the end of our school time while he has a snack

And that’s it.  Really the only things I have to plan for are story time and arts & crafts, and I’ve just discovered how having a theme for the week can really simplify that process.  I’m not a terribly creative person, so I scour the internet looking for good ideas and piecing it together with good books and activities that won’t overwhelm me or Mr. S!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Tracy Bua Smith
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 11:13:01

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and posting a comment! My first two children are 17 months apart so I know what it’s like to have children spaced close together, although I didn’t get the “are they twins?” question too much.
    Your daily schedule looks great! We also start our day with a Morning Offering prayer, I read from https://store.pauline.org/English/tabid/56/CategoryID/561/List/0/catpagesize/25/Level/a/ProductID/2918/Default.aspx each morning to my kids before we do calendar and Pledge.
    I have both volumes, each covers 1/2 the year. I saw you read the Loyola Saint book to your children. These Saint for Young Readers books are great and I highly recommend them. I’m sure I’ve seen the Loyola copy before in a catalog or bookstore, but I can’t remember how they are laid out. The saint book I read is only about a page long, highlighting a saint for each day of the year and the language is very kid friendly. Maybe these books will keep your kid’s attention even though they are still young.
    I also voted for you on the Picket Fence button! I’m also on the fence (#10 in Food, and #7 in Teaching/Homeschooling):)

    Hope to chat with you again soon!
    Tracy
    http://www.asliceofsmithlife.blogspot.com

    Reply

  2. Mary Catherine
    Aug 24, 2010 @ 13:56:17

    What a nice plan you have there! I need to sit down and plam more myself! Stopping over from SITS 🙂 Enjoy your week

    Reply

Leave a Reply

