Tour de Schoolroom

This entry was inspired by Mama to 3 Blessings.  I had originally planned to do this in a Wordless Wednesday fashion, but I wanted to include some explanation of what is where and why, so maybe I’ll go Wordless next Wednesday instead.

First, a brief word of explanation: our schoolroom was originally my daughter’s nursery, so the walls are painted lavender.  I like the color, so I didn’t see the  need to change it when we moved her into a big-girl bed (and into the room she shares with her brother).

Here we have the Pledge of Allegiance, our daily schedule (complete with Mr. S’s handprints), and the Morning Offering, which is the prayer we say at the start of our school day.

Underneath all that is our chalkboard.  I was going to paint part of the room with chalkboard paint, but my MIL said it was difficult to remove and paint over when you tire of it – so I bought this at Hobby Lobby instead.  It’s affixed to the wall with velcro tabs, so it will be easy to change the position as the kids get older (and taller).

Next is the Ikea table that we use for school work.  I set out all the books and papers we’ll need for the next day as soon as we finish the current school day, and the notebook is my planner.

Another remnant of the nursery – this changing table/dresser combo has now become my book, puzzle, game, and art supply storage unit.

And finally, our reading and free play area.  We usually curl up on this husband pillow for story time, and after his reading lesson Mr. S and I break out the blocks and legos for some much-needed free play.  The green hanging thing is a flash card chart that we’ll be using later in the school year.

So that’s it!  I’d love to see what your schoolroom looks like too, please leave me a comment if you have a similar post so I can check it out.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kristy
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 17:58:09

    Very organized! And, I always have words with my “Wordless Wednesday” posts – I can’t resist!

    Reply

  2. Mimi
    Aug 25, 2010 @ 21:36:46

    I love it, and I think the color rocks!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today.

    Reply

  3. Tracy Bua Smith
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 00:39:43

    Great Job! Your school room is fantastic! Thanks for stopping by my blog and posting a comment!
    I voted for you on the Picket Fence today!
    Happy Homeschooling!
    Tracy
    http://www.asliceofsmithlife.blogspot.com

    Reply

  4. Nicole (Mama to 3 Blessings)
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 20:04:38

    Thank you for linking up to my Show Me your classroom – very cute! 🙂
    Nicole

    Reply

  5. maryanne
    Aug 26, 2010 @ 20:58:40

    What a great schoolroom! Great idea to use velcro tabs for the chalkboard, too!

    Reply

  6. Ronnica
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 20:31:56

    Love the lavender and how fun the room is! Makes me want to learn…oh wait, I ALWAYS want to learn. =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

