Not just Mommy

I’m having one of those days today – you probably know how it is, you get wrapped up in motherhood and homeschooling and keeping house and then one day you sit up and think, there is more to me than this!  And although I am happy with being housewife and mother and home school teacher, today I’m going to write about my other interests.

First and foremost, I am a geek.  I love sci-fi and fantasy books and movies, I have played various MMORPGs over the years (though I haven’t really had time to indulge in that particular pursuit recently), and I even did a fair bit of table top RPG playing in the years before I had kids.  My husband has some geek tendencies as well – he enjoys Star Trek and Firefly, and loved the Lord of the Rings movies – but I’m definitely the geekier one of the pair of us.  So this weekend, I’ll be attending:

This is the first year I’ve attended, and I’m pretty excited!  I spent an hour this morning looking at the detailed schedule of events for the convention and deciding what I want to see and do while I’m there.  I’m only planning to go to on Saturday, though I might go on Sunday afternoon as well if The Man doesn’t mind (and he probably won’t, since he’ll be leaving the following Tuesday to go to Denver for a week on a business trip) since there are several things I’d like to see then too.   When the kids are older, I hope they’ll share my geeky interests and want to go with me – since it’s local, we don’t have to worry about hotels so it’s more affordable than attending other conventions like Comic-Con in San Diego.

In addition to geeky interests, I’m also an avid reader.  Since the kids were born, most of my socializing has been with other moms in playgroups, the church nursery, or home school events; and a few months ago I decided to look for a book club to join, just so I could have some periodic activity that wasn’t child-focused.  I was lucky to connect with a great group of women in my area, and now we get together once a month for great food and discussions of the book we read each month.  I don’t always love the books (this month, for instance, we read From Beginning to End by Robert Fulghum, which really didn’t interest me much), but it’s still nice to get together with a group of women from different walks of life who all share an interest in reading.

And now I need to take a break from relishing thoughts of my non-Mommy characteristics and go wake little T. up from her nap, else we’ll never get her to go to bed tonight!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nikki
    Aug 30, 2010 @ 22:46:33

    My husband and I are geeks too LOL. We play video games and watch the Sci Fi Channel all the time. We also watch the Science channel. He’s all about some wormholes and time travel LOL.

    Reply

  2. Jennifer @ The Mommy Mambo
    Aug 31, 2010 @ 00:21:06

    Well, Scotty, beaming you a comment…

    I wish I had a good book club to chat with about the loads of books I read. I LOVE TO READ more than sleeping sometimes (which is bad for my health i think)!

    Visiting from SITS!

    Reply

  3. Avant Garde Parenting
    Sep 01, 2010 @ 23:49:26

    Found you on blogfrog- now following.

    I love your geeky interests! And you’re right, Comic-Con is way expensive and CROWDED. I went to Botcon (Transformers) this year for the first time with my husband, who has gone for years. Loved it! Going back next year!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

