School on holidays?

Yesterday was Labor Day, so T didn’t have preschool – but I ended up doing school with Mr. S anyway.  I hadn’t planned on it, but quite frankly I hadn’t planned any special activities at all and the pair of them were driving me crazy – so finally I said, “It’s Monday, let’s do school!”  T enjoyed participating in story time and arts & crafts, and I set her up with a Crayola color wonder coloring book someone gave her for her birthday while Mr. S and I worked on reading, writing and math.

Since “school” at this point really only takes about an hour, it’s not a big deal to integrate it into our long weekends.  I doubt I would ever want to school seven days a week, but I can certainly see doing it sometimes when public schools are out for various reasons!  This year, our county has adopted what they are calling a balanced calendar – school started in early August, and the school year will end in mid-May I believe – but in addition to the usual Christmas break, spring break, and the occasional long weekend, there will be week-long breaks in September and February.  I don’t know that we need to take that many breaks, and I’d rather do school on some of those days and save time off for when we have family or other guests in town or planned vacations.

What do you think?  Do you follow the public school calendar, or do your own thing with regards to scheduling?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jesslynn10
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 02:48:50

    We do a little of both. I guess it really depends on if we have great plans of school holidays or not. Yesterday my dh took the kids to a friends house and I went out with a friend and then had some mommy time. There have been many times though, that we did school when the district was out because we needed to catch up or because they NEEDED something to do!

    Reply

  2. Elisabeth
    Sep 08, 2010 @ 13:44:53

    We follow our own schedule for sure. My boys hunt and that’s definitely not factored in with the public schools! 🙂 I agree with you. Do school when you can and take off when you have friends and family visiting.

    Thanks so much for stopping by Treasuring the Moments and taking the time to leave a comment!

    Elisabeth

    Reply

Leave a Reply

