Pirate Week!

We’re not really doing school this week, since T is home all day every day for Fall Break; but I decided we did need some activities to keep us busy.  Since this past Sunday was National Talk Like a Pirate Day, I thought it might be fun to have a week of pirate books and activities!

Books we’re reading this week include:

  • Do Pirates Take Baths? by Kathy Tucker
  • Pirates Don’t Change Diapers by Melinda Long
  • The Little Pirate by Philemon Sturges
  • The Gingerbread Pirates by Kristin Kladstrup
  • Roger, the Jolly Pirate by Brett Helquist
  • Shiver Me Letters: A Pirate ABC by June Sobel

We’re doing some pirate crafts too; on Monday we made newspaper pirate hats, and this afternoon we’re going to make parrots from toilet paper rolls and construction paper.   I also printed out some pirate coloring sheets from Busy Bee Kids’ Printables. Mr. S doesn’t really like to color, but T does, and I’m hoping he’ll get into it if only to be competitive with his little sister!

Monday and Tuesday, we watched Muppet Treasure Island, which I was able to get from the library.  I’m happy to say the kids enjoyed it – this was their first real exposure to the Muppets, and since I have so many fond memories of them from my childhood, I’m really glad the kids like them!

In addition to the pirate-themed activities, we’re also doing some cooking this week.  I bought this book several months ago:

Mr. S is a very picky eater, and I was hoping that Elmo and friends would inspire him to try some new things.  So far, it’s not going well – he certainly enjoys helping me make various recipes, but saying he’s hesitant to taste the results would be putting it mildly.  He flat-out refused to even taste the strawberry-kiwi smoothies we made on Monday.  Oh well, at least I can get him to touch new foods, even if he won’t eat them yet!

To top off the week, both kids have come down with something.  Initially I thought it was just a cold, as T has had a runny nose and a bit of a cough for the past few days – but then yesterday afternoon they both came down with a fever of about 101, and Mr. S threw up on me last night after bath.  Ah, the joys of motherhood!  Fortunately, a little Tylenol and a lot of taking it easy seem to be doing the trick, and hopefully they’ll be healthy again by tomorrow or the next day.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jen
    Sep 24, 2010 @ 01:05:46

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today! Looks like Pirate week was lots of fun 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

