Sadness

I just found out that an old friend passed away today.  We were very close in high school and the years following, though we’d not been as close recently (we developed very divergent political views, and were given to passionate arguments that sometimes were easier to avoid, so we fell out of touch) – but she’s one of those friends I always assumed would be there, and I feel her loss tremendously.  That, and the shock of hearing that someone I was so close to in my youth is gone at the age of 37.  I still don’t know what happened, I don’t want to intrude on her family so I’m waiting for someone to email me with details.

Grant your forgiveness, Lord, to the soul of your servant R. that, being dead to this world, she may live now to you alone, and whatever sins she committed through human frailty, do you, in your mercy, absolve. Through Christ our Lord. Amen.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Claire
    Oct 15, 2010 @ 21:50:11

    I’m so sorry for your loss. I have this type of friend, too (the type that you lose touch with for the reasons you mention), and I know it would be devastating to hear of their death.

    Reply

  2. Tiffany
    Oct 15, 2010 @ 23:22:25

    I’m sorry for your loss; I’m thirty-five, and I’ve already lost a couple of friends from high school. It really brings you up nose-to-nose with your own mortality. Just wanted to say I enjoy your blog–the title got me! I’m the mother of three, two girls (4 and 3) and a boy (13 mos). “No, they’re fourteen months apart,” is something I probably mumble in my sleep! God bless. – Tiffany

    Reply

Leave a Reply

