Not Wordless Wednesday

I’ve slacked on blogging, reading and commenting this week.  I have no one but myself to blame – I just haven’t felt inspired.  I’m still stunned by the news that my friend passed away; for the first few days, I kept waiting for her to call me and tell me it was some kind of sick joke, or a strange social experiment.  Alas, that is not the case – she’s truly gone.  Her funeral is this Sunday in Miami, and I’ll be there.  It’s going to be a crazy weekend – on Saturday, we have two birthday parties (for the kids’ friends) and a Halloween event in the evening; then on Sunday I’ll be getting up at 4am and driving to the airport to catch the earliest possible flight to Miami.  I’ll be flying back home that night, arriving about 9pm.  I fully expect it to be a draining day, but I need to be there.

Life goes on, even in the midst of sadness.  We are doing school this week, and we’re going to a local pumpkin patch on Friday with some friends.  I just don’t have the heart to write about normalcy right now.  Next week, I promise, I’ll talk about our Halloween books and crafts and songs, but this week I just need to be alone with my thoughts and embrace the melancholy.

Leave a Reply

