Halloween

Halloween is almost here!  We started reading Halloween books and doing spooky crafts last week – I’ll probably post some pictures of our craft projects on Wednesday.  For today, I’m just going to tell you about the books we’ve been reading.

I selected six Halloween books from the ones I checked out of the library in early October.  We read three last week, one of which wasn’t very memorable (I’ve already forgotten the title and I returned it to the library on Saturday, oh well…).

The first book we read (primarily because it had holds at the library and had to be returned last week) was Boo, Bunny! by Kathryn O. Galbraith and Jeff Mack.

This was a cute story, but really a little too young for Mr. S.  I would recommend it for the two to three year old crowd, as it only has a few words on each page.  However, Mr. S really enjoyed the pictures.

The other book we read last week was By the Light of the Halloween Moon by Caroline Stutson and Kevin Hawkes.

It’s a cumulative story, which is great for preschoolers, and I liked how the girl was brave and firm in handling the creatures at the end.

Today we read a partially bilingual story called Los Gatos Black on Halloween by Marisa Montes and Yuyi Morales.

This book was beautifully illustrated, and I liked how it integrated the Spanish and English words in a poem about Halloween/Dia de los Muertes.  It includes a glossary in the back in case you are not familiar with any of the Spanish words.

We’re also going to be reading Druscilla’s Halloween by Sally M. Walker and Haunted Party by Iza Trapani this week.

I’ll include my review of those later in the week.

I know not everyone celebrates Halloween, but I really don’t see anything wrong with it.  For me, it’s never been about glorifying demonic things – it’s about dressing up and having a good time with friends and neighbors.  We are going to an All Saints’ Day party with the co-op on Friday, and for that the kids will be dressing up as saints (their “regular” Halloween costumes are a monkey and a cowgirl this year), so we’ll be addressing the religious aspects of the season as well.  But I grew up in a very strict environment and it only made me want to try out all the forbidden things (which I did as soon as I left home), and I don’t want my kids to grow up the way I did – so we’ll be reading things like Harry Potter and Twilight when they’re old enough to understand them in the proper context, and I imagine we’ll always celebrate Halloween.

Leave a Reply

