All Souls’ Day

“No one’s death comes to pass without making some impression, and those close to the deceased inherit part of the liberated soul and become richer in their humanness.” – Hermann Broch

Today is All Souls’ Day – a day set aside to honor the memory of our beloved dead.  For me, it is especially poignant because it is the anniversary of my father’s death – seven years ago today, just five short weeks after he walked me down the aisle at my wedding, my father passed away unexpectedly.  He had suffered from heart disease for many years, but we didn’t expect him to be gone so soon.  I still feel his absence so deeply, and it saddens me tremendously that my children will never get to know him.

Of course, his is not the only death I remember today.  I recall with fondness memories of my grandparents; I mourn with my sister for the loss of her husband, who passed away last October from cancer; and of course, I hold dear the memory of my friend who died just a few weeks ago.  It was incredibly difficult to write her name on our parish’s Scroll of Remembrance, and to realize she is truly gone.

I try to remember the happy times and not just dwell on the sadness of not having these people here with me anymore.  I can keep their memories alive by showing my children pictures and telling them stories of things that were done and said during their time on earth.

Eternal rest grant unto them, O Lord, and let perpetual light shine upon them.  May they rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

