Cleaning house

I am a terrible housekeeper.  I just can never seem to get organized, and as a result I have a tendency to let things get so out of control that I’m overwhelmed and don’t know where to start.  Finally I decided something had to be done.

I’ve tried to get into the Flylady groove, but it’s too regimented for me – plus I just don’t feel like I really need to clean my bathroom every day!  So instead I decided to get the book Sidetracked Home Executives from the library.

When I finally sat down to read it, I was positively inspired!  I made a list of the supplies I would need to implement the system (mainly 3×5 cards in various colors, dividers, and a file box) and went to Office Depot the very next day to get them.  I set up the system nearly two weeks ago and I’m pleased to report that it’s working!  I’ve made a few adjustments, but for the most part it’s really kept me on task.

I’m surprised that such a low-tech system is what I needed – my husband is a techie and I’m fairly tech-savvy myself, so I would have thought something higher-tech would appeal to me; but the card file system is working, and I like knowing those cards are waiting for me every day in the kitchen.

Here’s hoping I can maintain this system in the long run!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Karla Taylor
    Nov 04, 2010 @ 20:03:09

    This is exciting.! I am going to try to get this book, to tell you the truth I am on the same boat! I dread unexpected company because the house is a mess!! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  2. Jennifer
    Nov 16, 2010 @ 00:04:40

    Love your blog! I’m a classical education, homeschooling, catholic, flybaby too! What I love most about Marla Ciley is that she doesn’t ever expect overnight miracles and she really gets me! I was reading through your posts and trying to decide where to post a comment, when I read this one and knew it had to be here! Good Luck! (And thanks for visiting and commenting on my blog earlier!)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

