Happy Thanksgiving!

(subtitled: Better Late Than Never)

I knew I was going to fail at blogging, but I really didn’t intend for so much time to pass without me posting anything at all.  Oh well.

Many of my plans for this past week went awry.  I had picked out six good Thanksgiving books to read with Mr. S and little T, and assembled a bunch of craft ideas as well – and then on Monday I came down with a bit of a cold and lost my voice.  So much for reading aloud!  We did manage to do two of the crafts I’d planned, but instead of reading books we watched the Charlie Brown Thanksgiving special multiple times.

We had a lovely Thanksgiving, though.  I took the kids to see Tangled at noon yesterday, and embarked on my cooking journey when we got home.  (The movie was cute, incidentally – nothing special, but we had fun.)  My darling husband decided to try something new with the turkey this year, so he bought an infrared turkey fryer – and although I was skeptical about the idea, the bird was delicious!  I made green bean casserole, sweet potato casserole, corn pudding, and stuffing to go with it, and one of our guests brought some delicious apple cider made with spiced rum.  A good time was had by all!

Today my wonderful husband let me sleep in, and sleep I did – for almost 13 hours.  I very rarely do that, but I’ve not been sleeping well recently and I guess I had a bit of a sleep deficit built up!  I feel like a new woman now, I just hope it doesn’t mess up my sleep pattern for the next few days.  I don’t think it will, it’s currently 10:30pm and I’m ready to go to bed any minute now.

Tomorrow I’ll write about little T’s preschool drama – it’s something I’ve given a lot of thought to this week, and I think I need to write it all out before I make a final decision.

Leave a Reply

