Planning ahead

We’re going to be out of town from Dec. 22 to Jan. 2 – we’ll be spending Christmas and New Year’s with my family in Florida, I’m hoping for warm weather!  This week I’m trying to get a head start on planning what kinds of units we’ll be doing the first few months of 2011.  Here are my ideas so far:

  • Winter – I found enough picture books and craft ideas to keep us busy for the entire month of January.
  • African American History Month – I’m not sure I can fill an entire month, but I’m going to give it a shot.  The challenge will be finding picture books on notable African Americans that aren’t over my kids’ heads!  But if I can’t fill the whole month, February is also Children’s Dental Health Month and Library Lovers’ Month.
  • Spring – the first day of Spring is March 20, but hopefully the weather will be getting a bit nicer in March so we can start taking some hikes and talking about the changes that Spring brings.
  • Easter – this year it’s April 24, so we’ll focus on Lent and preparing for Easter during the month of April.

At some point in the early months of 2011, I’ll have to start thinking about what kind of curriculum we’ll need for the 2011-2012 school year.  I’m still leaning towards Classical Conversations; I plan to arrange for us to visit a class meeting in January, because I think the local group starts registration for Fall 2011 in February.

We’re also going to be busy with extracurricular activities. In addition to the co-op enrichment classes every Tuesday, little T will be starting ballet in January, and Mr. S is going to play t-ball beginning the first week of February.  There is much to look forward to in the coming year!

Leave a Reply

